38 teachers and principals receive ‘CBSE Teachers Award’

The awards recognise teachers and princiapals for their innovation, dedication and contribution to school education


Union Education Minister Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ conferred the CBSE Teachers Award on 38 teachers, principals, school counsellors and vice principals of CBSE-affiliated schools in an online felicitation ceremony in New Delhi, on September 9. The recipients include primary, middle-level, language, science, social science, physical education, mathematics, economics, IT and fine arts teachers.

These awards — for the year 2019-20 — recognise the teachers and principals for their dedication, innovation and invaluable contribution towards improving the school education system.

Each award comprises a merit certificate, a shawl and a cash reward of Rs 50,000. The selection process takes place online and the applicants are evaluated on the basis of general and specific criteria under each category, taking into account many factors pertaining to school education and their contribution.

Pokhriyal appreciated the efforts put in by teachers to lay the basic foundation of education. He highlighted the fact that the awards were meant to “celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country”; to honour them for their commitment towards improving the quality of school education and “enriching the lives of students”.

The New Education Policy 2020, the Minister shared, recognises teachers as the central point of the education system. Therefore, all schools must have sufficient teaching staff and the appropriate environment to enhance the work culture. He congratulated the awardees for their contribution to the field of education and their sense of duty.

The event was attended by Minister of State for Education Shri Sanjay Dhotre, as well as Anita Karwal, secretary, Department of School Education & Literacy, and Manoj Ahuja, chairman, CBSE.

Comment on the Article

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

two × 1 =