Government working on simplifying labour laws


The existing 15 labour laws will be grouped into four broad categories based on their functionality.

The Union Ministry of Labour and Employment is working on a draft for redefined labour codes.  Primarily, the labour codes are being grouped into four broad categories based on their functionality. These are wages, industrial relations, social security and welfare, and safety and working conditions.

The idea is to simplify, amalgamate and rationalise the relevant provisions of the existing Central Labour Laws. Currently, there are 15 existing central labour laws including—EPF Act, ESI Act, Maternity Benefit Act, Payment of Gratuity Act, Employees Compensation Act, Unorganised Social Security Act and various Welfare Cess/Fund Acts.

Bandaru Dattatreya, the minister of state (IC) for labour & employment, disclosed this information in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha on July 26.

These changes are being implemented by the Ministry on the recommendation of the second National Commission on Labour.

Earlier, the Ministry of Labour and Employment prepared a preliminary draft on Labour Code on Social Security 2017. The draft was placed on the website of the Ministry on 16.3.2017 for further comments by public and other stakeholders.

Currently, the provisions of the Code on Social Security 2017 are under consideration.



  1. That’s a great news… We are finally getting there :)…. we have so many laws to adhere to and the pertaining audits make it very difficult to track and monitor the adherence of all these law codes.. it will truly make life simple …

Comment on the Article

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 + nine =