Skill India to upskill 4000 ISRO techies in 5 years

The training will start at the National Skill Training Institutes (NSTI) in Bangalore, Chennai, Calicut, Hyderabad and Mumbai NSTIs


With an aim to upskill the technical staff at the Department of Space (DOS) at the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE) has signed an MoU (Memorandum of Understanding) with ISRO.

The programme will create a formal framework for short-term courses to provide training for the skill development and capacity building of the technical staff of ISRO, as per the industry requirements, in India’s space domain.

Over 4000 ISRO technical employees will be trained in the programme over the course of the next five years. The training will be held at the National Skill Training Institutes (NSTI) under MSDE, located in Bangalore, Chennai, Calicut, Hyderabad and Mumbai.

The objective of the training programme is to boost the skills of various technical staff working across ISRO centres and units under DOS.

Training will be imparted with the help of MSDE’s state-of-the-art training institutes across the country, in specific disciplines to upgrade employees’ skillsets as per the latest industry trends and requirements.

As per the MoU, ISRO will jointly work with MSDE and associated NSTI to prepare a detailed training calendar, training curriculum and syllabus, to accomplish the larger objectives of the programme. The training kits for the trainees will be provided by ISRO.

Labs, workshops, classrooms, specimens, and other training facilities will be arranged by MSDE to effectively carry out the programme at identified NSTI, in consultation with Capacity Building Programme Office (CBPO). The overall management and complete supervision of the programme for its successful execution will be done by MSDE.

Rajesh Aggarwal, secretary, MSDE, said, “These training programmes will enable technical personnel to embrace and augment cutting-edge technology, thereby elevating India’s standing in the space domain.”

The MoU was signed by Rajesh Aggarwal, secretary MSDE and S. Somanath, secretary Department of Space/ Chairman ISRO, in the presence of TVLN Rao, RD, RDSDE, Karnataka; Kumarvel, DD, RDSDE, Karnataka; C Ravi, director, CFI, DGT; Parveen Kumar, DD, DGT; Manish Gupta, assistant director, MSDE; N. Sudheer Kumar, director, CBPO, ISRO; and Nishant Kumar, deputy director, ISRO. The same will be valid for a period of five years.

Comment on the Article

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

6 + seven =