Life beyond Work in three words: Helping others, Being with family, Spirituality: Reetu Raina

She likes writing about the hardships that she and her family faced during the Kashmir exodus in 1990. Find out more



Helping others, Being with family, Spirituality


I belong to a family that was uprooted during the Kashmir exodus, which happened in the 1990s, when I was 14 years old. I like writing about the hardships that I and others faced during that time. I share my stories about those struggles— from the point of view of how people’s behaviour and minds were affected as they navigated this crisis— on social media. This is something very close to my heart.

My usual mornings start with a cup of tea. That is also when I like to maintain a diary putting down all the tasks that I have to do that day to keep myself organised. If I do not do this, my day always remains unorganised.


On weekends, I generally go out on a long drive — an unplanned trip. I visit small towns near Pune and stop by tea shops where I can interact with other people and get to know them. I also like to help underprivileged students, mentor them and help them build a career.


My last holiday was a two-week trip to Sri Lanka in the year 2019, just before the pandemic. Along with my family, we also had my former colleague’s family with us. We visited the capital and south Sri Lanka, which has some beautiful beaches.


With Amdocs, during a mentor development activity, I was a mentor and we had collaborated with an NGO. It all started from there, when I met some underprivileged girls and gave them career guidance. I developed a connection with them and since then, I and some of my colleagues from Amdocs have stayed in touch. We mentor such underprivileged children so that they can also achieve something in life. Whenever possible, either on weekends or weekdays, I block some time to talk to such children and conduct small mentoring sessions for them at my place. Apart from this, I keep a personal fund aside to help those in need. For instance, if my domestic helps need money for education, I use this fund to support them.


Generally, on weekends I like to cook for my family. It is something I love doing to pass my time. Also, meditating for a few hours is part of my daily routine.

This article first appeared in the April, 2022 Issue of HRKatha Print Magazine 

Comment on the Article

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

sixteen + sixteen =