UGC to select new chairman from 10 shortlisted candidates


The position has been lying vacant since April 3 following the retirement of Prof. Ved Prakash.

After the University Grants Commission’s (UGC)  chairman, Prof. Ved Prakash, retired on April 3, the Union Human Resources Development (HRD) Ministry decided to scout for a replacement. Ten candidates were shortlisted by the search-cum-selection committee (SCSC), headed by Dr H.R Nagendra.

Now, after a discussion, the candidates will most likely undergo personal interactions with the selection committee before a list of three candidates is forwarded to the Union HRD ministry. The shortlisted candidates will apparently be interviewed on May 17. The new selected chairman would be expected to restructure UGC.

The 10 shortlisted candidates include Anil Sahasrabudhe, chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE); DP Singh, chief of National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC); G C Tripathi, vice-chancellor, Banaras Hindu University (BHU); Yogesh Singh, vice-chancellor, Delhi Technological University (DTU); Y Narasimhulu, head, Rayalseema University; and R S Kureel, vice-chancellor, B R Ambedkar University of Social Sciences (Madhya Pradesh).

Former chairman, Prakash, had been appointed on 8 January 2013, on a condition that his tenure will be for five years or till he turns 65, whichever comes earlier.

V C Chauhan, a UGC member, is currently the acting head.


Comment on the Article

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × five =